Interview/Giveaway with Author Jennifer Hudson Taylor and a winner has been chosen!

I hope you all had a wonderful and blessed Easter weekend. A winner has been chosen at random for Jennifer Hudson Taylor’s book Highland Blessings. That winner is Kelly! Congratulations, Kelly!  I will be emailing you shortly with the details.

Thank you to everyone who entered. Be sure to enter to win Laura Hilton’s book and watch for the giveaway of Author Joanne Troppello’s book this Thursday!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
 
I am excited to have Author Jennifer Hudson Taylor as my guest this week. Jennifer is also graciously giving away a copy of her wonderful novel Highland Blessings to one lucky commenter. Please leave an encouraging comment for Jennifer by Thursday, April 21 for a chance to win! Subscribe to this blog and receive two entries!
 
And now, without further ado, please welcome Jennifer Hudson Taylor…
Hello, Jennifer! Thank you for being here today. Please tell us a little bit about yourself. I write historical Christian fiction set in Europe and the Carolinas. I’m also a mom and wife who works another full-time job outside the home. I love traveling, history and coffee!
Image of "Jennifer Hudson Taylor" 

Please tell us about your current book, Highland Blessings. Scotland (1473) – Highland warrior Bryce MacPhearson kidnaps Akira MacKenzie on her wedding day to honor a promise he made to his dying father. When he forces Akira to wed him, hoping to end a half-century feud between their clans, she struggles to overcome her anger and resentment. . .Yet her strength in the Lord becomes a witness to Bryce. But there is a traitor in their midst . . . and murder is the ultimate weapon.

Highland Blessings

Sounds awesome! What was your inspiration behind your book and what do you hope readers will take away from it after they finish reading it? I’ve always loved historical romances set in Scotland. The highlands have always fascinated me and since so many of my ancestors were Scots-Irish, I wanted to write about that setting. We have lots of redheads in my family. My Scottish surnames are Gregory (MacGregor), Frazier, and Galloway. My husband’s Scottish surnames are Henderson, Grant, and Campbell. On a spiritual level, I want people to realize through Highland Blessings that it doesn’t matter how old the feud, regardless of the circumstances, there is love and forgiveness through Christ who really does restore relationships. 
 
Do you have a favorite Bible verse? During my 14 years of trying to get published and through all the rejections, I clung to “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1
 
Where do you see yourself in five years? In otherwords, what are your hopes, dreams, and goals? My hopes are that my writing will be successful enough to support my family or at least allow me to reduce my “other job” to part-time. My dream is to take my family to Scotland. These are also my goals. 
 
If you were given a million dollars to start a charity, what type of charity would you start and why? I’d like to do something for teen moms even though there are already several programs out there. My mother was 16 when I was born, and she was a wonderful mother in spite of her young age. She taught me my faith in God. My dad was 19 and they are both still married to this day after 41 years in spite of being high school drop outs. I want teens who may be pregnant to understand that their life isn’t over because they have this new responsibility. Their lives are just beginning, and even though life took a detour they didn’t expect, God could shower them with multiple blessings through their child. I grew up to be a Christian fiction author. I bet no one ever thought that would happen when they saw my mom holding my hand in the local Dept of Social Services office to get foodstamps. It wasn’t easy for my parents. They swallowed their pride, did what they had to do, and started drilling college into me from the moment I could walk. I’m one of those college students who received my B.A. in Journalism through multiple sources of a government grants, student loans, scholarships, and a work-study program. I received my 4-yr degree in only 3 years. There is no limit to what teen parents can accomplish through Christ.
 
Wow, Jennifer! Your last statement is so true. I love your heart for teen mothers! So…what’s next on your writing agenda? My next novel, Highland Sanctuary, will release in Oct 2011. Here’s a short blurb:
Caithness, Scotland (1477) Gavin MacKenzie is hired to restore the ancient Castle of Braigh. He discovers a hidden village of outcasts that have created their own private sanctuary from the world. Among them is Serena Boyd, a mysterious and comely lass who captures Gavin’s heart. The villagers have an intriguing secret, while Serena harbors a deadly past that could destroy her future. When a fierce enemy launches an attack against them, greed leads to bitter betrayal. As Gavin prepares a defense, the villagers unite in a bold act of faith, showing how God’s love is more powerful than any human force on earth.
 
Where can readers connect with you? (website, blog, twitter, FB, etc.)
 
Thank you, Jennifer, for being a guest on my blog. God’s blessings to you and your family.

Thank you for having me!

Highland Blessings is available everywhere books are sold including Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/Highland-Blessings-Jennifer-Hudson-Taylor/dp/1426702264/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1302730948&sr=1-1

 

37 thoughts on “Interview/Giveaway with Author Jennifer Hudson Taylor and a winner has been chosen!

  1. What a wonderful interview!

    Jennifer, I love your heart for teens and teen moms (parents). It’s so very true, just like Phil. 4:13, we can do ALL things through Him who gives us strength. What an awesome testimony!

    Your book sounds wonderful. I’d love a chance to read it!

    God Bless you with your writing journey!

    Kerry

  2. Ann, Thanks for stopping by.

    Amanda, Thank you!

    Kerry, I love the Phil 4:13 verse. I remind my daughter of it constantly. She has special needs and has a few challenges to overcome, but God is with her every step of the way.

  3. I love historical books set in Scotland! Thanks for the chance to win.

    jmschwindt0306 at gmail dot com

    Thanks
    Jennifer

  4. Sounds like such an amazing book! Carmen sent me and I would love a chance to win this! Thanks!

    kcmelone/at/yahoo/dot/com

  5. Sounds like a great book! I love Scottish-Irish-Wales fiction!
    Thanks Penny for this great opportunity and the interview!

    Please enter me

    crazi.swans at gmail dot com

  6. I love Scottish books…as a matter of fact I just finished one by Anne Greene! I really admire you authors that write historical fiction, Jennifer, because I know tremendous research is involved. Especially with Scottish novels. I would love to read this. Thank you for entering me!

  7. I can’t believe my luck. I’ve had this book on my wishlist forever. I really want to read this book. So Carmen sent me over to this site to enter for my chance. I would really really like to win this book.

  8. Sounds like a great book. I would love to win it. Always looking for new authors. Please enter me.

    happyasalarks at yahoo dot com

  9. Love your books! we have this book on our “to read” list for our
    Women’s Ministry, of which I am the leader. If I win it, I’ll take that as an omen that we read it next!

  10. Ohh, I would dearly love to win a copy of this book!!!! I read it once a few months ago, but I do not own a copy. I’d love to see it sitting on my bookshelf–as I loved the book–so please enter me into this giveaway!!

    Thanks, for hosting this interview Penny. And thanks giving a copy of your book away, Jennifer! It really was great and I can’t wait for your next book to come out!

    ~ Katy

  11. I love Scottish historicals. George MacDonald, Liz Curtis Higgs and… my cousin’s genealogical research! (We’re descendants of the 16th Laird of Drum, Alexander Irvine of Crimond). Please add my name to the hat for the drawing.

    thank you!

    vicki dot hale at gmail dot com

    • I want to thank you all for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment to win Jennifer’s wonderful book. I am blessed to be able to interview such a gifted author. I can’t wait to see who wins!

      Blessings,
      Penny

  12. Wow, what an exciting book! I love your aspect of teen motherhood. My mother-in-law was 16 when she had my husband and he is an awesome man, therefore showing how she struggled to make sure he was good and decent. She fought for everything she had and I give you Kudo’s for your want of a teen mothers charity. It sounds like you’ve thought this out thoroughly!

    Thanks so much for the chance to win your book. I am an email subscriber to this blog as well as a follower. Thank you so much, again!

    Shawna
    mzshawnaj[at]gmail[dot]com

    Blessings!

  13. Carmen sent me and I’m glad she did. This looks like a very well written book. I’d enjoy reading it.
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  14. Carman sent me over for the giveaway.
    Your interview was very heart felt. Thank you for your parents story.
    Would love to have the chance to win this book.

  15. Thanks for entering me, it sounds like my kind of story. I’ve not a drop of Scottish blood in me, but I’ve always been fascinated by the highlands. :)

  16. This book looks sooo wonderful! Scotland is my favorite country and I always love historical fiction. So I would love to be entered into this drawing!
    IrishFilly4Christ[at]hotmail[dot]com

    Hope to hear from you soon!

  17. I would love to be entered! I tried to get in on this book for review but didn’t make it in time. I am a lover of Scotland and try to get any book set in that time but this one looks really good:) Thanks!

  18. I would love to win this book! The sad news is that I’ve had no luck winning any of yours, Penny, but the good news is that I subscribed to your blog! I didn’t even know you had this nice blog or that I could subscribe by email, so cool, since you are one of my favorite people! If I don’t win Highland Blessings, I’ll have to write it down on my wishlist, right underneath of yours…sigh.

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

