Author Interview/Giveaway With Katie McCurdy (and a winner has been chosen)

*Update*

We have a winner of Katie McCurdy’s book “Journey of Faith” …the winner is Meredith! Congratulations and thank you to everyone who entered. If you didn’t win, you can find Katie’s book on Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/Journey-Faith-Legacy-Purpose-Book/dp/1432726013/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1298679944&sr=1-1

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I am thrilled to have guest Katie McCurdy with us today as she discusses her book “Journey of Faith.”  Katie has graciously agreed to bless one lucky person with a copy of her book, so be sure to leave a comment for a chance to win! (Contest ends Thursday, February 24, 2011).

Hi Katie! It’s great to have you here. Can you please tell us a bit about yourself?

Well, I am the third oldest in a family of ten children – two boys and eight girls. (Yes, the boys are pretty outnumbered in my house!) Recently my family went through a big change in our household when the oldest, my brother, moved not only out of the house, but out of the state. 😦 We are all still trying to get used to him not being with us as he attends law school. Every day one of my little sisters complains that they want their brother to return – its sad at times, but we know that it only for a season. He’s a really awesome brother. But anyway, I am getting off track! So sorry!

As you might guess, I am still having trouble with this new faze of my life – growing up and leaving. I turned 18 a few months ago, so I am getting used to officially being an ‘adult’. 🙂 I write excessively – my family often tease that I am on the computer 24-7. But they are a really awesome support team and I love each and every one of ’em! I self-published my first book, Journey of Faith, when I was 16 and have been working on my second book ever since then. I’ve learned a lot since publishing that first book and, if the Lord wills it, I would like to try to find a publisher for my second book. But I will just have to wait and see where the Lord leads!

Your first book is Journey of Faith.  Can you give us a short blurb?
 
Sure! Faith Martin is growing up just outside of a prosperous town in Missouri, enjoying her life and her family. When her parents suddenly decide to move out west to newly-settle town in Wyoming, Faith is shocked. She had always imagined remaining in Missouri her whole life. Struggling with her inward feelings, they soon pack up and leave her childhood home and friends.
 
When they arrive in the new town of Prairie Grove they undergo many adventures as they try to get settle and begin a ranch. Things don’t come easily in Wyoming. Faith keeps her favorite verse, Romans 8:28, close to her heart amid all the trials. But when she and her brother end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, she struggles to remain true to that verse. Will they succeed at starting a life in Prairie Grove, and more importantly – will they make it back to their family alive?
Product Details
 
You are a teen author, which I think is awesome! What advice would you give to other teens who want to publish a book?
 
To keep writing. Even when you think you have perfected the craft – keep learning and keep writing. I wrote my second book in a matter of months, but am still working on it today. 🙂 I keep honing my writing and making it better: adding this, taking out that. Right now I am re-writing the beginning of the book, as I wanted it to be more of an attention grabbed than I originally had it. So…keep writing! And keep depending on Christ. Trust in Him and determined perseverance is the key here! 🙂
 
Excellent advice, Katie. Speaking of depending on Christ, what role does faith play in your writing?
 
Wow, big question! But I will try to keep it short. My faith in Christ has grown so much since I began writing. I knew when I began writing that I wanted to have an underlying message within the adventures, as I personally enjoy books so much when I am able to learn something from it and apply it to my own life. As I began writing more and more, I found myself praying over the characters. Might sound strange, but I would pray that the Lord guide my characters and allow them to experience an adventure that would impact someones life and encourage other Christians. For example, in “Journey of Faith,” the main character struggles with contentment and trust when she finds out that her whole life is about to change. Throughout the book she learns how God puts things in people’s lives for a reason – for his own perfect plan.
 
That’s an awesome testimony, Katie! So do you have a favorite Bible verse?
 
Yes! I use it in my first book, Journey of the Heart. It is Romans 8:28 – “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.” It has helped me get through many problems and trials in my life. It has so much truth and promise in that verse!
I agree, that is a wonderful verse. So,  where do you see yourself in five years? In otherwords, what are your hopes, dreams, and goals?
 
Hmm…I see myself as married (if the Lord wills it) and beginning a life with my husband somewhere nearby – both to remain close to my family and my church. I will have continued writing and, Lord willing, have a few books published through a traditional publisher. (I can dream!) A baby on the way would be really sweet, too, if God blesses me with children. And I would love to be an Aunt by then, as I have a brother and sister older than myself. 🙂 So…nothing big or extravagant in my dreams and hopes – but they are my dreams nonetheless….! 🙂
 
If you were given a million dollars to start a charity, what type of charity would you start and why?
 
If I could, I would want to give it to child or teen suffering from Cancer. (If that would count.) A dear friend of mine is now battling cancer, and she is just one month younger than myself. While I pray for her healing continually, I know that money to help cover the cost of chemo would be helpful. So, if I had a million dollars, I would love to find children and/or teens who are fighting life-threatening diseases and help support them financially. 🙂
 
I love your idea of helping children with life-threatening diseases, like cancer. A little friend of ours is a cancer survivor and I know a charity like the one you mentioned would be so helpful to his family as they pay toward the extensive medical bills for his treatment. So, Katie, What’s next on your writing agenda?
 
Well, I am working on finishing the sequel to Journey of Faith. I just recently wrote up a romantic suspense plot that I am determined to write, so as soon as I am finished with the sequel I will begin on that manuscript. Along with my personal writing, I am co-authoring a historical fiction set in Persia right after the reign of King Xerxes. The title we have for it is Scattered Tears and it focuses on the reign of Persia after Xerxes murder.
 
Wow, Scattered Tears sounds like it will be a great book. I’m looking forward to having the privilege of reading it 🙂 Before we go, where can readers connect with you and/or learn more about your book?
 
I have a website for my writing, www.booksbykatie.webs.com. But I don’t keep up with it very much. So, if you want to connect with me, check out my blog, Legacy of a Writer – www.katieslegacy.blogspot.com. You can find my Facebook page on my blog and follow me – I will be keeping that updated with where I am in my writing world! 🙂
 
Thank you, Katie, for being here! Now be sure to leave a comment by clicking on “comment” at the top of this post for a chance to win Katie’s awesome book. In the meantime, Journey of Faith  is available at http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=journey+of+faith
28 thoughts on “Author Interview/Giveaway With Katie McCurdy (and a winner has been chosen)

    • Gwen and Rhonda,
      Thank you so much for stopping by to encourage Katie! I agree with you, Rhonda, it is thrilling to see Katie letting the Lord lead and guide her in her writing and in her life.
      I hope you both have a wonderful weekend.
      Hugs & Blessings,
      Penny

  1. Katie,

    I think it’s so fantastic that you published your first book at only 16 years of age. I want to encourage you to keep writing!

    Above all, I’m thrilled to see that you’re letting the Lord lead and guide you in your life and your work. I really enjoy reading books that include God’s Word within the stories.

    Praying over your characters is a wonderful idea as God can give you wisdom for the actions and decisions that your characters take…imparting that same wisdom and insight in a way that your readers can relate to in real life situations and experiences.

    Please enter me in your giveaway for a chance to win a copy of your book. Thank you.

  2. After actually seeing an email that turned a lady back to the Lord, I encourage all of you (authors) to continue writing Christian novels. Your dedication and research is greatly appreciated and blessed!

    Please enter me for a chance for your book. Thank you.

  3. I’m a only child and can’t imagine having so many siblings . How awesome is that! I really enjoyed reading about you and your book sounds like it is really going to be a very interesting book.

    Blessings,
    Jo

    • Hi Linda and Jo!
      Thank you for stopping by and joining us for Katie’s interview. I agree, Jo, I can’t imagine having 9 siblings! I have 2, but 9? Wow! Thank you, Linda, for your encouraging words to authors. We appreciate you taking the time to remind us that our words can and do make a difference for God’s Kingdom. I also appreciate you sharing with us about the lady who turned back to the Lord after reading a Christian fiction novel. *note – the email can be seen on Linda’s blog at onedesertrose.com*
      Hugs and Blessings,
      Penny

  4. Wow, Katie! If only I had been so ambitious at sixteen! But, what I can do is share your ambition with my own children. What a beautiful example you are of determination and faith. I can’t wait to check out your book. All the best to you!

    Theresa

  5. Thanks to everyone for your sweet comments!

    Gwen and Jo – Its been a grand adventure ever since my siblings started coming! 🙂 lol My parents had the four oldest sporadically. Then there was a long four year gap, and they weren’t sure if they would be able to have anymore. THat’s when Mom got pregnant again – and baby sisters have been coming every two years since. 🙂 lol

    Rhonda, Linda, Joanne, Theresa – Thank you all for the encouraging words! I pray I can continue to bring a message or lesson to others through my writing. (Btw, that’s wonderful about your work, Linda. Praise the Lord!)

    ~ Katie

    • Hello Joanne, Theresa, and Ann Lee!
      I really appreciate you stopping by and leaving an encouraging word for Katie. I agree, Theresa, I was impressed about Katie being so ambitious at 16 – she is an inspiration! And Ann Lee, I, too, was touched by Katie’s comments about her oldest brother too. So refreshing to see such close family unity. Thank you, Joanne, for your kind words about the interview and about Katie’s book.

      God’s blessings,
      Penny

  6. Katie,

    I think that’s so great that you are working so hard at pursuing your dream at age 16. Kudos to you and your great attitude and faith!

    I would love to read your book.

    julesreffner(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Good Afternoon, Julia and Mel!
      Thank you so much for stopping by and for your kind and encouraging words for Katie. Mel – I have read your blog and you are a fantastic writer too! 🙂
      Praying you’ll both have a Christ-filled rest of your week.
      Blessings,
      Penny

  7. Katie and Penny,

    What an awesome interview! It’s already so evident how mightily God is using you for Him, Katie. What an inspiring example you are for other teenagers and young adults to keep (and grow) your faith and follow your dreams — they go hand in hand! (Psalm 71:5 & 17)

    It’s wonderful that you’re giving your books and characters over to God, too. He can do amazing things when we offer Him back the talents He’s given us. Keep seeking His face, praying, and keep writing!

    I look forward to reading your book(s) Katie! 🙂

    God Bless!
    Kerry

    http://candidkerry.wordpress.com/

    • Hello Kerry and Peg!
      Thank you, Peg, for your encouragement toward Katie’s next book. I’m excited, too, to see where the Lord will lead her with it, especially the book that takes place after King Xerxes’ reign. Thank you, Kerry, for reminding us of Psalm 71:5 and 17 and for inspiring Katie with your words. I’m excited to have you as a guest on March 10 🙂
      In Christ,
      Penny

  8. I love reading more about authors, and I find each blog’s questions to be unique drawing some new insight into the author’s life. Thank you!
    I believe Katie will continue to grow as an author, and I look forward to watching that growth!
    Thanks for the chance to win her book:)
    Charlotte Kay

  9. Wow! Big family! My dad was one of 12, and my mom was an only child. Together they had 3. Big families are fun, I remember visiting with my dad’s as a kid!

    meredithfl at gmail dot com

  10. Katie,

    I have loved reading your blog over the last few months, but I guess I never realized that you’ve written a book!!!! You go girl!! 🙂 What a testimony that you’ve allowed the Lord to lead and direct your life, and that you’ve accomplished something as big as becoming an author while just a teen. Keep up the great work!

    I’d love to sign up for the giveaway, too. 🙂 Thanks!

    Christy
    orca0024 at yahoo dot com

  11. KATIE! I know you! 🙂 Wow, I didn’t know you got your book published at 16! I’m 16 right now, so it’s extra amazing to me. 🙂 Please enter me, I would LOVE to read it!

    • Hello Christy, Charity, Karen, Savanah, Leanna, lkish, Meredith, and Charlotte Kay,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a comment for a chance to win Katie’s book. Tomorrow we will be announcing the winner…I can’t wait to see who wins!
      Blessings,
      Penny

  12. Pingback: Bits & Pieces of Info « Penny Zeller ~ A Day in the Life of a Wife Mom & Author

  13. Pingback: Bits & Pieces of Info « Penny Zeller ~ A Day in the Life of a Wife Mom & Author

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

