Interview/Giveaway with Author Laura Hilton and a winner has been chosen!

The winner of Patchwork Dreams is…Charlotte Kay! Thank you to all who entered!

I am pleased to have as my guest, Author Laura Hilton. Laura will be discussing her new book Patchwork Dreams, which is available everywhere books are sold, including Amazon.com. http://www.amazon.com/Patchwork-Dreams-Amish-Seymour-County/dp/1603742557/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1303396103&sr=1-1

Patchwork Dreams (Amish of Seymour V1) (Amish of Seymour County)

Laura has graciously agreed to give away a copy of Patchwork Dreams to one lucky commenter. If you subscribe to my blog or are already a subscriber, you’ll receive two entries. And now, let’s meet Laura!

Laura Hilton, her husband, Steve, and their five children make their home in Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas. She is a pastor’s wife, a stay-at-home mom and home-schools her children. Laura is also a breast cancer survivor.

Her publishing credits include Hot Chocolate and Shadows of the Past from Treble Heart Books; a devotional in a compilation from Zondervan; and the first book Patchwork Dreams in her Amish of Seymour series from Whitaker House will be released in April 2011, the second book, A Harvest of Hearts in September 2011, and the third in April 2012. Laura has her business degree from Ozarka and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. Laura is a professional book reviewer for the Christian market, with over a thousand book reviews published at various online review sites.

Welcome to my blog, Laura! Your recent release is titled Patchwork Dreams. Please give us a short blurb about your book. Patchwork Dreams Book 1 of The Amish of Seymour…Becky Troyer has committed the ultimate sin, and finds herself on the edge of her Amish community. Jacob Miller believes he was sent to the Old Order Community in Missouri to help out a distant cousin. Instead, he discovers he was part of an arranged swap–sending men from his Pennsylvania district to the Missouri district to bring new blood into the Amish community. Becky dreams of marriage, but doesn’t dare hope that anyone would choose her–not with her history. Can God use the lies that have affected Becky and Jacob to bring them together? Or will Jacob rebel and head home to his first love?

What was your inspiration behind Patchwork Dreams? Well, a long, long time ago I read a book by Beverly Lewis were the character was sent off to Ohio to get him away from his girl – he returned home in this series to marry the girl.  But then I thought – What if…. and I started thinking about the men that are swapped in this community. And that is where it came from.

What role does faith play in your writing? Oh, everything. I can’t write without praying first, that I will say what God wants me to say. And He seems to have a message He wants illustrated in every book.  

Do you have a favorite Bible verse? Yes – Jeremiah 29:11.  For I know the plans I have for for you says Lord, plans for good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Jeremiah 29:11 is one of my favorites as well, Laura!

Where do you see yourself in five years? I have no idea. In otherwords, what are your hopes, dreams, and goals? Um.  Well, I’d love to have a few more books to my name and … whatever God has for me.  

If you were given a million dollars to start a charity, what type of charity would you start and why? Oh, I wouldn’t start a charity. I’d pray about it and give that million dollars to whatever organizations the Lord lays on my heart.  The church, a cancer foundation, other ministries… there are so many worthy ones already out there.

What’s next on your writing agenda?  I’m currently writing book three in The Amish of Seymour series, and have a few more ideas for future books simmering on the back burner.

Where can readers connect with you? (blog, twitter, FB, etc.)

My main blog is http://lauravhilton.blogspot.com/ my review blog is http://lighthouse-academy.blogspot.com/ and I’m also on Facebook.

Thank you, Laura, for being a guest on my blog!

Remember, if you leave an encouraging comment for Laura, you will be entered in the giveaway for a copy of her new book Patchwork Dreams. I’ve read and enjoyed this book, so you won’t want to miss this opportunity. Also, if you subscribe to my blog, or are already an subscriber, you will receive two entries. Giveaway ends April 28, 2011.

37 thoughts on “Interview/Giveaway with Author Laura Hilton and a winner has been chosen!

  1. So nice to meet you, Laura, and what a wonderful interview with Penny!

    Jeremiah 29:11 is such a powerful, reassuring verse. I love it, too.

    Patchwork Dreams sounds like a wonderful read. I love books dealing with redemption and forgiveness.

    I’ve also started reviewing books as the Lord lays it on my heart and I will definitely check out your blog!

    God’s Blessings on your writing journey,
    Kerry

  2. I love it that you pray before writing. Perhaps other authors do, but you are the only of one to mention it. We take his blessings for granted so often. I am so glad that you spoke of doing so.
    May our Lord richly bless you and your family more than ever before!

  3. I love Jeremiah 29:11! I think about it often when “bad” things happen to me. I offer up a prayer and this is what comes back. It’s such a reassuring verse!

    I’m so looking forward to reading your series. I think it’s awesome that I’ve been opened up to another Amish series. I’ve been really interested in them lately! Thank you for the chance to win one of your books!

    I’m already a subscriber to penny’s blog. 🙂

    Shawna
    mzshawnaj[at]gmail[dot]com

  4. This book sounds really great. I have recently been introduced to Amish fiction and I just loved the books I’ve read so far! Thanks for a chance to win this great book!

    I am a subscriber!

    Courtney
    kcmelone(at)yahoo(dot)com

  5. Please enter me, it sounds great!

    Oh, I won a copy of “Kaydie” finally in a giveaway! I’ve seen many positive reviews and can hardly wait to read it. 🙂 I love the cover.

    photographer4ever832[at]gmail[dot]com

  6. Congratulations on being a survivor. Three of my closest friends
    are also breast cancer survivors and are enjoying life to the
    fullest. I love happy endings and would enjoy reading your book!
    “Happy Easter!”
    Thanks, Cindi

  7. I have become a blog stalker again, trying to win this book. First yours, Penny, now this one.:):) Please enter me! This book sounds wonderful!

  8. Great interview. I love that she would support something ongoing with charity money than trying to recreate something.

    meredithfl at gmail dot com
    Email subscriber

  9. I love reading books about the Amish. I have read a little bit about the swapping of men from the Amish communities, so this book sounds especially interesting! I would love to win this book! Thanks for the chance.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

    **Carman sent me! 🙂

  10. Laura, I have heard so much about your book in the blogospere! All positive. Can’t wait to read your book!
    Penny, thanks so much for the interview!
    Please enter me to win the book

  11. I think I would really enjoy your books, Laura. I love these kinds of books!!! They have become some of my all-time favorites.

    Thank you for this wonderful giveaway.

    countrysunset40 (at) aol dot com

  12. I thought you might be interested to know that my husband, a transfer-truckdriver, used to carry Calcum Cloride to an Amish farmer in Lancaster, Pa. The farmer always livited him to lunch with the family. The Amish wife always cooked amazing food. Once my husband’s truck was stuck in the ice and snow near the barn. The farmer brought out his Clydesdale horses and pulled out the truck with no problem. The Amish life isn’t simple, they are hard-working people. I would love to read Patchwork Dreams
    Thanks!
    Rebecca
    rbooth43(at)yahoo(dot)com

  13. Please enter me!
    Carman sent me.
    I really enjoyed Kaydie.
    I am looking forward to reading
    Patchwork Dreams. I know Mrs. Hilton
    and I have visited the area she has
    set her novel.

  14. Oh, I’m sorry for putting 2 comments together, Penny. It said it wouldn’t take the 1st one b/c it was a duplicate comment so I typed another one and they both showed up.:(

  15. Enjoyed the interview. With five children to home school how do you even have time to write. Your book sounds great. Carmen sent me

    true_sheila at yahoo dot com

  16. THANKS FOR ALL THE KIND WORDS, EVERYONE. I REALLY APPRECIATE IT. MY TWO BOYS ARE GROWN AND WHILE STILL AT HOME ONE IS WORKING AND THE OTHER IS IN COLLEGE. I WRITE WHEN THE YOUNGER THREE FINISH OR ARE DOING SEATWORK.

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

