Interview/Giveaway with Author Joanne Troppello and a winner has been chosen!

Yay! A winner has been chosen to win Joanne’s fabulous book! Congratulations to Charlotte Kay and thank you to all who entered!

__________________________________________________________________

I am honored to have Author Joanne Troppello with me this week discussing her new book Mr. Shipley’s Governess. Joanne is a mystery and inspirational romance author and freelance  copywriter/editor located in Pennsylvania. She has graciously agreed to give away a copyof her ebook to one lucky commenter, so be sure to leave an encouraging comment for Joanne for a chance to win. The giveaway ends May 5, 2011 and those who are subscribers will receive two entries. 

In a bit I will be announcing the winner of Laura Hilton’s book Patchwork Dreams, so stay tuned. In the meantime, would you please welcome Joanne Troppello….

Picture

It is great to have you here, Joanne. Please tell us a little bit about yourself. I write romantic suspense and inspirational fiction and work from home as a freelance writer / marketing consultant.  I have two books published.  Shadowed Remembrances is a mystery novel and Mr. Shipley’s Governess is an inspirational romance novel, published through Wild Horse Press. I am contracted to work for several different companies, to write non-fiction, how-to articles each week.  I also work as a consultant for a local medical organization and I manage facebook and twitter accounts for different clients.  I love to write and read and spend time with my family.

Your recent release is titled “Mr. Shipley’s Governess.”  Please give us a short blurb about your book.  Sophie Baird is looking for a way to escape the painful reality of her parents’ deaths. Unable to live in their home any longer, she takes a job as a live-in tutor to Anastasia Shipley to remove herself from her painful memories and the feeling that God has abandoned her.

Anastasia has an illness that has prevented her from ever attending school and makes her father, Sebastian, over protective.

When Sophie first meets Sebastian, she cannot deny the intense attraction she feels toward him. When an unexpected romance begins between them, she starts to rebuild her relationship with God, with the help of a certain little girl.

What was your inspiration behind your book? I am a huge Jane Austen fan and love her classic romantic stories.  I wanted to write a contemporary love story with a classic feel.

Wow! I agree – I enjoy a good love story too. So, Joanne, what role does faith play in your writing? It plays a big role.  I’m a Christian and I want to write books that share the good news of salvation without sounding preachy.  In my books, I try to portray true to life characters that experience life’s ups and downs, but who are drawn to God’s love and restorative power. 

Speaking of faith, do you have a favorite Bible verse? I have many favorites, but one that has truly given me peace is Jeremiah 29:11-13, just knowing that God has a perfect plan for my life. 

11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. 12 Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. 13 And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.

That is one of my favorite verses too. Where do you see yourself in five years?  In other words, what are your hopes, dreams, and goals? I hope to still be writing books and enjoying my family and all that God is doing in our lives. 

And now, for the fun question…if you were given a million dollars to start a charity, what type of charity would you start and why? I would love to start a ministry to help orphaned children and those in the foster care system.  My parents adopted five children and growing up in a large family (my mom had four biological children also); I know what it means to be part of such a loving, God-centered environment.  I can’t physically adopt all the orphaned or unwanted children in the world, but having a million dollars would be a start to creating a ministry towards helping those children. 

I love that idea, Joanne. My youngest daughter has a heart for orphans as well and she insists she will be adopting them all, so I will have a zillion grandchildren, LOL! Can you share with us what’s next on your writing agenda? I just finished edits on my newest book, Bella Lucia, and submitted a proposal and first chapter to a publisher.  Hopefully, I’ll hear some good news soon from them.  Bella Lucia is classified as women’s fiction/drama and is a new type of genre for me to write in.  My first book was a mystery novel and the second a romance.   To occupy my time while I’m waiting, I’m editing another book I wrote a few years ago and never submitted, Island Honeymoon.  This is a romantic suspense novel and it is the first in a series.  

We will for sure be on the lookout for your next books. They sound great! In the meantime, where can readers connect with you?

Blog: http://joannetroppello.weebly.com/blog.html

Twitter: http://twitter.com/JoanneTroppello  

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/joanne.kerzmanntroppello  

Thank you again, Joanne for being my guest. It has been a pleasure to have you here.

Readers – don’t forget to leave an encouraging comment for Joanne by May 5 for a chance to win an ebook of Mr. Shipley’s Governess.

22 thoughts on “Interview/Giveaway with Author Joanne Troppello and a winner has been chosen!

  1. Oohhh this book sounds so good! I am going to have to add this to my TBR list! That’s too bad that the interview file isn’t working. I will have to check back in to hear more about this author! Thank you for the chance to win!
    I am also a subscriber! Thanks!

    Courtney
    kcmelone(at)yahoo(dot)com

  2. Aren’t computers stink bugs sometimes? Can’t live with ’em can’t live without ’em! I had a huge thing typed out to help a friend on her blog and when I clicked submit it all flew away and I had to retype it all. Only this time it was a shorter version.:-) Please enter me, Penny. I would love to win! Thank you.

  3. I adore the cover of Joanne’s book! If being a fan of Jane
    Austen makes this book a must read, please count me in…
    Many thanks to you!
    Cindi

  4. I loved the interview blog and the book does indeed sound to be a good one. Just from the little blurb that was wrote in referrence to it makes you want to read more. Thank you for inviting me to read the blog.

  5. i like the cover and the book setting the pic you did are great and i am adddding you to my face book and twitter so i will be following

  6. Joanne, this sounds like the kind of book I’d love to read curled up under a blanket with a warm fire going (provided it wasn’t 85 degrees out). As a writer, and new book review blogger, I am impressed with the range of genre’s you have written. Which one would you say is most “you”?

  7. Oh, count me in!
    As a teacher, I LOVE books involving governesses!
    This sounds like a great read!

    Charlotte Kay
    charlovesmark at gmail dot com

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

