the humorous life of a writer…part 2

Penny Zeller, Christian Author

Last week I talked of a hilarious moment while interviewing a major source for a magazine article. If you haven’t yet read it, it can be found here: https://pennyzeller.wordpress.com/2011/04/27/the-humorous-life-of-a-writer-part-one-2/ 

This week, I’m sharing another humorous incident involving an interview that happened to me some time ago. This time, I was the one being interviewed. And this time, it wasn’t my sweet little daughter who played the part of the key character, no this time, it was the rowdy outdoor wildlife. 🙂  

Keep in mind, this was a live radio interview with a huge audience in several different countries…

Product Details

While I anticipated the interview (I absolutely enjoy being interviewed by this particular interviewer) and a chance to talk about my then-most-recent-release, I hadn’t anticipated waking up with the flu. Nor had I anticipated the wildlife that would be the secondary characters in my “life of a writer, scene one, take one, movie.”

Praying the Lord would give me the words that would glorify Him during my  interview, I settled in to answering the questions.

Before long, I heard a strange, yet familiar, noise on my roof. Trying to hide my disturbance, I realized the source of the noise…Woody Woodpecker was back and he was tap-tapping on my roof right above my office. He’d visited many times before with his attempts to tap a dent into our roof. But never had he made his appearance known during a live radio interview.

Product Details

But no worries. I had this under control, right? Nope. Not at all.

Next, I heard the incessant barking of dogs.  Arghhh!

Product Details

A quick glance out the window confirmed my suspicions – a herd of deer had made their presence known, causing hysterical barking from the neighbor dogs.

 Product Details

In between answering interview questions, I offered a prayer heavenward, praying that the audience wouldn’t hear the noise.

Between the flulike symptoms, the persistent tapping woodpecker, and the barking dog choir, I managed to complete the interview some time later. Of course, as if on cue, all of the extracurricular noise stopped once the interview was over!

Now I laugh about that hilarious interview. I also laugh about how true it is that some things are truly out of our control. Isn’t it nice that there is One who is in control?

Have a great rest of your week and join me next time for another moment in the life of this wife, mom, and author! 🙂 Also, join me next Monday when Movie Monday returns.

4 thoughts on “the humorous life of a writer…part 2

  1. Penny,

    Thank you for this giggle. 🙂 I really needed it today!

    What a great “I-can’t-believe-this-is-all-happening” moment! LOL. And I love your Woody Woodpecker, Poodle and Bambi. 🙂

    I hope all is well!
    Love ya,
    Kerry

    • Thank you, Kerry 🙂 I can say with absolute certainty that I took a huge sigh of relief when the interview was over, LOL! And here I was worried that my kids would make a lot of noise!

      I hope you are doing well. Have a great day!

      Love ya,
      Penny

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

