The Case of Mistaken Identity

Penny Zeller, Christian Author

Have you ever had a truly disappointing moment? Such was the case for me recently when I encountered a case of mistaken identity…

My girls and I visited the farmer’s market.  We were just getting ready to leave and had hopped into our vehicle. I gazed one last time upon the jellies and jams, the homemade loaves of bread and cookies, and the fresh fruits and vegetables, when I saw something exciting that caught my eye.

Yes, there they were…from afar I saw some watermelons for sale at one of the booths. (Did I mention I didn’t have my glasses on?)

I LOVE watermelon, so of course, I had to investigate. I started up the vehicle and drove toward the booth at the edge of the parking lot. I excitedly waved at the man behind the booth and asked, “How much are your watermelons?”

He looked shocked. “My watermelons?”

“Yes, your watermelons right there,” I pointed from my car window.  This would be awesome! We would have fresh watermelon for our upcoming camping trip. I couldn’t wait!

But suddenly as I neared the booth upon closer examination, I realized something horrifying. The green food was NOT watermelon! I gasped in shock. This wouldn’t be good for my reputation.

“Uh, I’m sorry, I thought that stuff was watermelon,” I muttered.

“You mean the cabbage?” the man asked with an impatient look on his face. “No that’s not watermelon. It’s cabbage.”

“Um, I knew that,” I said, trying to reassure myself.

The man nodded in a way that told me he didn’t believe me.

I looked in my rearview mirror to see that my daughters were crouched low in their seats. How embarrassing for us all! At the thought of such a disturbing case of mistaken identity, I stepped on the gas and peeled out in our getaway car.

the getaway car...

Ok, so I don’t really have a little electric “triangle” car and I didn’t really peel out, but I will leave you with wise words from one who’s been there – be sure that the food you think it is – is the food you think it is – before you ask for what you think it is. 

Until next time, have a great week!

3 thoughts on “The Case of Mistaken Identity

  1. I’m sure he was thinking, “Hmmm…Cityfolk!!!!” Lol!!! Joanne T. has been growing LOTS of vegetables in case you get “stumped” again! Lol!! Thanks for the chuckle!! 😀

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

