Win a Free Kindle!!!

I am thrilled to again be hosting authors with interview/giveaways and guest posts on Thursdays. To kick it off, I am pleased to have author Pam Hillman on my blog today. Below is some information about her brand new ebook, Stealing Jake, and information on how you can win a free Kindle to read her awesome book. Yep, Pam is giving away a free Kindle to one lucky winner on October 8. But…here’s the kicker…the last day to enter is September 30. A bit later, I’ll tell you how to enter. Until then, some background on Pam and Stealing Jake. It’s a bit different than we usually do giveaways here on my blog, so be sure to check out the instructions below to be sure you are entered.

So many books are now being released as ebooks (including my book McKenzie, the first in my Montana Skies Series, which is available on Kindle and Nook and in paperback). Here’s Pam to give us some background on Tyndale’s exciting new program for ebooks –

With ebook sales rocketing skyward, established publishers, authors and readers alike are taking a second look at electronic publishing. Tyndale House Publishers answer is the Digital First Program.

 This past spring, Tyndale decided to offer a new model of publishing called “Digital First”, which is just what it implies, digital first with print books to (hopefully) follow. With ebooks quickly surpassing print books in sales, they asked a select group of agents to send proposals from their unpublished authors who had completed manuscripts ready to go. My agent sent one of mine, and I was offered a contract, along with 4 other unpublished authors: 3 fiction and one non-fiction. My book, titled Stealing Jake, released July 1, 2011 as an ebook. Generally, it takes 12-18 months for a print book to hit the shelves, but Tyndale put these ebooks on a fast track to publication and had them available in about six weeks.

What an exciting program! And now, here’s a bit about Pam.. .

Award-winning author Pam Hillman writes inspirational fiction set in the turbulent times of the American West and the Gilded Age. Her debut book, Stealing Jake, won the American Christian Fiction Writer’s Genesis contest and was a finalist in Romance Writers of America’s prestigious Golden Heart contest. She lives inMississippi with her husband and family

 [Pam.jpg]

And a bit about her fantastic book Stealing Jake…

When Livy O’Brien spies a young boy jostling a man walking along the boardwalk, she recognizes the act for what it is. After all, she used to be known as Light-fingered Livy. But that was before she put her past behind her and moved to the growing town ofChestnut,Illinois, where she’s helping to run an orphanage. Now she’ll do almost anything to protect the street kids like herself.

Sheriff’s deputy Jake Russell had no idea what he was in for when he ran into Livy–literally–while chasing down a pickpocket. With a rash of robberies and a growing number of street kids in town–as well as a loan on the family farm that needs to be paid off–Jake doesn’t have time to pursue a girl. Still, he can’t seem to get Livy out of his mind. He wants to get to know her better . . . but Livy isn’t willing to trust any man, especially not a lawman.

Interwoven throughout is a group of street kids arrested inChicagoand sold as child labor. Leading this band of ragamuffins is young Luke, a scared, determined orphan intent on rescuing his little brother at any cost.

I love hearing how other authors got started in their writing careers. So here’s Pam to share her writing journey…

I’ve been writing most of my life, but seriously started pursuing publication a little over 15 years ago. Over the years I’ve developed relationships with industry professionals and other writers, learning and improving my craft a bit at a time.

Being chosen as one of the launch authors for Tyndale’s Digital First Initiative was a combination of having a completed manuscript ready to go at the exact time Tyndale started looking for debut authors to launch the program. When my agent, Steve Laube, asked if I was interested in submitting, I didn’t hesitate. And the rest is history.

Jake and Livy’s story started out as a novella proposal for Tyndale House Publishers several years ago, but didn’t make the cut. I liked the premise so much that I revised it, working with the story until I had a full-length novel.

The manuscript garnered several awards, and the attention of a few editors, but I always felt like something was lacking. I couldn’t get it out of my mind that Luke’s story needed to be told as well. And finally, one night sitting on the steps at the hotel at the ACFW conference in 2008, romantic suspense author Robin Caroll helped me brainstorm ways to weave Luke into the story.

I loved the results, and the revised version went on to final in the 2011 RWA Golden Heart contest before being contracted by Tyndale House as one of the launch books for their Digital First Initiative program.

So now the all important question – how do you enter to win a Kindle?

Go to this link, which is Pam’s blog and enter to win. Yep, it’s that easy. I know, I know, usually, I have you leave a comment here on my blog, but this time we’re doing things a bit different, (yes, I still love your comments, so feel free to leave one, lol) but if you want to be entered in Pam’s Kindle contest, you MUST sign up via her blogspot. So, go here –http://pamhillman.blogspot.com/2011/07/pams-blog-tour-kindle-contest.html

Did you enter yet? Great! And now, to find out more about Pam, check out where she is on the web –

 Website: www.pamhillman.com 

Blog: www.calicotrails.blogspot.com

Group blog: www.seekerville.blogspot.com

And last, but not least, here’s where you can purchase Stealing Jake-

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Stealing-Jake-ebook/dp/B0057Z87DK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1309377471&sr=8-1

 B&N:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/stealing-jake-pam-hillman/1103995167?ean=9781414366616&itm=1&usri=stealing%2bjake

 CBD:

http://www.christianbook.com/stealing-jake-ebook-pam-hillman/9781414366616/pd/19108EB?item_code=WW&netp_id=936169&event=ESRCG&view=details

Don’t forget to enter and thanks for stopping by!

15 thoughts on “Win a Free Kindle!!!

  1. I have “Stealing Jake” on my Kindle for PC. Sure would love to have a real Kindle to read it on. Thanks for this post about Pam Hillman and this interesting new program from Tyndale.

  2. Melinda, thank you for downloading Stealing Jake!

    I have to agree that reading on a Kindle is a much better experience than on your PC, but I’ve had people tell me they read Stealing Jake on their iPhone or their PC, and loved it!

    I’m so honored that someone would read my book in that format. Thank you for being a dedicated fan!

  3. Penny, thanks for the post about Pam’s giveaway. I would LOVE to have a kindle. I don’t have any portable reader, and truthfully, because my laptop gets so hot on my lap, I’ve been preferring to read print books. But I’m sure I woul love the Kindle. I enjoy your blog.
    Teela

  4. I would love, love, love having a Kindle, and it would be sweet winning one!
    Thank you for considering me for the win:)
    Many Blessings and Smiles,
    Charlotte Kay
    charlovesmark at gmail dot com

    • Charlotte, I love my Kindle too. But remember, the drawing is not here on Penny’s blog, but you have to sign up for it through my blog. The link is above. The deadline is Sept 30th, and the drawing will be October 8th.

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

