Author spotlight and giveaway with Elizabeth Byler Younts!!!

I’m excited to have another great author spotlight and giveaway with one of my author friends today -Elizabeth Byler Younts. Elizabeth is giving away a copy of her new book Seasons: A Real Story of an Amish Girl. 

The giveaway is open to U.S. residents and anyone can leave a comment. However, if you are a confirmed subscriber to this blog, you receive two entries! A winner will be chosen at random on Thursday, January 12.

I haven’t yet had the privilege of reading Elizabeth’s book, but it sounds fantastic and I have it on my TBR list! Check out the blurb below:

As the oldest child in an impoverished Amish family, Lydia Lee knows little more of life beyond hard work, sacrifice and extreme hunger. Yet, even as a young girl she strives to be content with all God has provided.

Against the backdrop of the Great Depression, Lydia’s childhood unfolds as her family struggles to survive, finding strength from their Amish faith. But, when tragedy strikes, that very faith is tested beyond what any child should have to endure. When all hope seems lost, Lydia is reminded that all things have seasons.

The spring of her life has been spent planting prayers in the soil of sadness and heartache. Will she see a summer of true love? Will there be a harvest of happiness?

Elizabeth Byler Younts is the author of an Amish memoir titled SEASONS: A REAL STORY OF AN AMISH GIRL. Seasons is the story of her grandmother Lydia Lee Coblentz who grew up in an impoverished Amish family through the Great Depression. Seasons was released in August 2010 and has become an Amazon bestseller in 3 categories. Elizabeth is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers. She is an Air Force Officer’s wife with two young daughters and makes her home wherever her family is stationed.

Elizabeth loves to connect with her readers:

On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Elizabeth-Byler-Younts/149609568446062

On Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/EBYounts

Elizabeth will also be a guest with a live interview on January 12 @ 3-3:30p Central time here: http://toginet.com/shows/livinginspired
Seasons: A Real Story of an Amish Girl is available at bookstores everywhere including here: http://www.amazon.com/Seasons-Real-Story-Amish-Girl/dp/1461148677/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1325777347&sr=1-1
So be sure to leave Elizabeth an encouraging comment for a chance to win!
61 thoughts on “Author spotlight and giveaway with Elizabeth Byler Younts!!!

  1. I stumbled across your blog yesteday and am so glad I did. I look forward to reading more of your work. I do have a question, I notice on the right side of this page books you’ve written. I’m most curious about the children’s book. Did you self-publish? I’m trying to break into the children’s market and am uncertain how to go about it.
    God bless,
    Bryan

    • Hi Bryan! Yes, I actually did start out with self-publishing my very first book “Hollyhocks.” It was dedicated to my nephew, Seth, who has life-threatening peanut allergies. I then went on to have the rest of my books traditionally published. Do you have a copy of the “Children’s Writers Market?” It is a great asset. If your book is in the Christian genre, “The Christian Writer’s Market” is a great asset as well. Attending writer’s conferences has been very helpful to me as well. I wrote an article about self-publishing that you might find helpful here: http://mommyrevenue.com/index.php/2011/02/22/would-you-like-to-publish-your-own-book-meet-penny-zeller/ Thank you for stopping by!

  2. I can’t wait to read this, Elizabeth. I grew up near an Amish community and am still fascinated by the Plain people. This book with the depression era setting sounds wonderful and being based on your real life grandmother makes me even more excited to read it.

  3. I have this book on my TBR but do not have a copy yet. Elizabeth, I have heard so many heartbreaking stories from my grandmother about the depression era. From what I heard it was even harder on the older children in the family having to loose so much of their childhood being giving adult responsiblities.

    I am even more anxious to read the book now. I love Amish reads.

  4. I am very interested Penny, I love the stories that have truth behind the story and this is about her grandmother. I will be looking for this book to read.
    thanks for sharing with us.
    I am a follower of your site and a big fan
    Paula O

  5. My 93 year old dad has told me many stories about
    living through the depression. It is very interesting
    how his family of 7 children all came together and
    made it through such difficult times. It would be
    wonderful to read about her Amish Grandmother
    ordeal…Many thanks, Cindi

  6. Penny, Thank you for introducing me to this author. I am so excited about finding another new author to read! Elizabeth Byler Younts book sounds wonderful and if I don’t happen to win it, it is definitely going on my wish list! I love reading about the Amish and their way of life!

  7. Hi Elizabeth, I love Amish stories and this one sounds like a great story. I can’t wait to read. You are a new author for me.
    Penny, Thanks for the opportunity to enter giveaway.

  8. I love to read books about the Amish and also about the Great Depression and this is about a family member of the past. This has to be extra special.

    Thank you for this giveaway. I am glad that I subscribe to your newsletter!

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

  9. So pleased with all the comments here. Thank you all for your interest. As a side note…on the day of the giveaway it’s also my birthday!!! But it looks like this time the gift will be going to one of you guys!!!!

  10. I have been following Elizabeth on both facebook and twitter! I grew up with an Old Order Mennonite family as my “second family”, so I have a soft spot for all things Amish. Thank you for the chance to win your book!

  11. Hi Paula, Thanks for sharing Elizabeth’s book! This is a two for one benefit for me! I’m so excited to have found your site and will sign up shortly to follow your blog. And I’ve known Elizabeth since I first met her in the Christian Writer’s Group of San Antonio about 2 years ago. Elizabeth, So glad to hear of the success of your book! 🙂 So happy that your Grandma is loving it too! Even if I don’t win, I have your book on my list–need to get it so I can enjoy it. I’ve always loved reading Amish fiction so look forward to yours! 🙂

  12. Hi, Elizabeth,

    Your book sounds so interesting to me because my parents went through the Depression in the South and it would be nice to see some background on how it was in other parts of our country. I am so glad to see Penny feature you and your book.

    I look forward to reading it. What a joy it would be to be the winner of the book! Thank you for offering a copy for the giveaway.

    Blessings,
    Janice jsmithg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  13. A memoir is so personal. Puts things into a real perspective. I certainly would enjoy winning this book. Thank you for the opportunity.

    desertrose5173 at gmail dot com

  14. I am so excited about having the opportunity to win this book! I have wanted to read it but with the holidays I have been short on money to buy it! It looks like such a good book and people I know who have read it just rave about it.

    Lynne Young
    lynne(dot)young(at)gmail(dot)com

  15. Thank you for the chance to win this incredible book. Also, for introducing us to Elizabeth and knowing something of the Amish (lived near Nappanee and Shipshe.) I just know this will be a facinating read. Elizabeth, I’m so interested in hearing your view from inside an Amish group! Tlhank you for writing your story! teelayoung at hotmail dot com

  16. It is 11:19pm on Thursday so I hope the contest goes on to midnight. We would so love to read Elizabeth Byler Younts new book Seasons: A Real Story of an Amish Girl.

    My husband and I absolutely love anything involving the Amish or Mennonites

    We are praying!

    God Bless

    Karen

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

