Training for the Mom Olympics

Penny Zeller, Christian Author
I dashed through high winds and zigzagged between the parked station wagons, Pintos, and VW Bugs, in the pursuit of a runaway cart in the grocery store parking lot.

1071220_supermarket_pushcart_02

The cart sped through the crowded parking lot toward an intersection attempting to mar the glossy finishes of luxury SUVs and sports cars.Picture 500760

And then I knew what I must do. The situation at hand had left me little choice.

I knelt down and tightened the laces on my Brooks Ariel running shoes, thankful I wasn’t wearing flip flops today.

Then, with the speed of a cheetah and the grace of a gazelle, I took off across the parking lot after the shopping cart.

1423024_cheetah

My heart pounded. Would I be fast enough?

Finally, I reached for the shopping cart handle just seconds before what would have been a disastrous situation. I wiped the sweat from my brow. Another rogue cart apprehended in the name of justice!

I returned to our SUV, climbed in, and glanced into the back seat. My kids appeared in shock with mouths wide open. “Mom!” Doodle gasped. “You were amazing. You should be in the Olympics – the Mom Olympics!”

So, as of today, I have begun training for the 2016 Mom Olympics. On the application, I listed my qualifications:

  • Carrying my children everywhere when they were younger (which built strong biceps and triceps);
  • Bending and stooping to pick up the toys and food my children continually threw on the floor from their high chairs when they were babies (which built strong quad muscles);
  • Hurdling over toys left strewn across the living room floor;

1225006_jacks

  • Dexterity and balance in hopping on one foot whenever I stepped on a Lego or fossilized Cheerio left on the floor;
  • The recent runaway cart episode showing my aptitude for speed and finesse;
  • Running the kids everywhere for their activities for the past several years (built endurance as a long-distance runner);
  • Experience in juggling (juggling multiple tasks as a wife and mom).

Happily, I was approved by the Mom Olympics CEO to participate. See you in Sochi this year or Rio De Janeiro in 2016!

IMG (800x541) (2)

******************************

Tweetables:

Why I’m training for the Mom Olympics (click to tweet)

Moms can you identify? Training for the Mom Olympics (click to tweet)

Got humor? Training for the Mom Olympics (click to tweet)

******************************

14 thoughts on “Training for the Mom Olympics

  1. Penny,

    I love the perspective that kids see things. Not only does Doodle see you as being a worthy entrant in the “mom olympics”, but also the “winner” of the event! What a compliment! 🙂

    I once had a similar experience as a teen. I think I should tell it some time on my blog. hee hee!

  2. Oh yes! I love this. As a mummy (I’m in the UK!) who stepped on a small plastic giraffe this morning, I can hop on one foot with the best of them. Not sure about the general cardio fitness as I admit I tend to overcompensate with too many biscuits and finishing off the kids’ tea…
    Great post. Thank you. I’ll definitely be back. 🙂

    • Helen, your comment made me laugh! I see you have much practice on hopping on one leg after the plastic giraffe incident. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by. I look forward to checking out your blog as well!

  3. Thank you for sharing at our TGIF Link Party at A Peek Into My Paradise. I hope you will be back to link up another awesome post this week!
    Cathy @ http://apeekintomyparadise.blogspot.com/

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

