Thankful for the small things…

Penny Zeller, Christian Author

It’s hard to believe that another Thankgiving is here!  As I reflect on the past year, I think of the many things I am thankful for – Jesus Christ as my Savior, my husband, my children, extended family, friends, and health. Sometimes, though, we only think of the big things we are thankful for, like those things I mentioned above.

What about the seemingly small things we are thankful for that we sometimes overlook? Below are a few that came to my mind in no particular order:

  •  I’m thankful for water. According to an article titled World Water Day: A Billion People Worldwide Lack Safe Drinking Water “More than a billion people—almost one-fifth of the world’s population—lack access to safe drinking water.” How many times do we go to the faucet and grab a glass of water without giving it a second thought?
  • I’m thankful I can breathe.  According to the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology, “Approximately 34.1 million Americans have been diagnosed with asthma by a health professional during their lifetime.” My husband and youngest daughter are included in those statistics. How many times do we take it for granted that we can take that a breath?
  • I’m thankful for the ability to read. While doing research for 77 Ways Your Family Can Make a Difference, I discovered that “by age 17, only 1 in 17 seventeen-year-olds can read and gain information from specialized text” according to the National Institute for Literacy. Taking this statistic into account, there are a high number of people who cannot read. Yet, I read things everyday and don’t give it a second thought that some people don’t have that ability.
  • I’m thankful for those who risk their lives each day to bring the Good News to those around the world. We in the United States face minimal persecution when it comes to sharing our love for Jesus. Our missionaries in other nations are not so fortunate. I read The Voice of the Martyrs and my eyes were opened to the sacrifices our Christian brothers and sisters make everyday to share the hope of eternal life with the lost around the world.
  • I’m thankful for food to eat. A couple of years ago, my husband and I were both diagnosed with multiple food allergies. It has been a challenge to find things to eat.  Yet, so many people in the U.S. and in the world have no food to eat – AT ALL. They would love to only have allergies to a handful of foods  – if they still had food to eat. chili
  • I’m thankful I haven’t been involved in a devastating hurricane, earthquake, or tornado. This past year, we suffered damage to our home and vehicles during a severe hail storm. When we returned home from our vacation, our yard looked as though it had suffered a major catastrophe. Tree limbs were everywhere, our garden was ruined, the new siding on our house destroyed, and our SUV totaled.

A few days later, our church was seeking volunteers to assist with the devastation caused by the deadly Oklahoma City area tornado. As our family discussed being a part of this outreach, I was overcome with gratefulness and humbleness that it was only a relatively minor hailstorm we were dealing with and not a horrific storm where lives had been lost.

  • I’m thankful for dirty dishes. Yes, you heard me right. I know, most people wouldn’t say “thanks” for the sinkful of food-corroded crusty dishes from last night’s dinner. However, I am thankful because if I didn’t have those dirty dishes, I wouldn’t have had food to feed my family. Same goes for dirty laundry. While it may not be my favorite task, I’m thankful we have clothes to wear, and therefore, clothes that get dirty.
  • I’m thankful for my church family. Sometimes I forget how blessed I am to belong to the Body of Christ and how thankful I am that I can walk through the doors of my church and learn about the Lord and share fellowship with other believers.
  • I’m thankful I can see and hear. As I sit typing this, my kiddos are in the living room playing a game with their dad. Thank You, Father, that I can hear their giggles! I’m thankful for sight too – the snowcapped mountains in the distance and the puffy white clouds in the sky. I’m also thankful that the Lord opened my eyes to see my need for Him! snow capped mountains

That’s a shortened version of “small” things I’m thankful for. As I look back on my list, I realize they’re not “small” things at all, but big and important things.

What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

16 thoughts on “Thankful for the small things…

  1. I am thankful for another day and another chance to live forgiven. I am thankful for unconditional love. I am thankful for my family and for the friends who are not afraid to tell me the truth. I am thankful for Bible study and the fact that I am never alone in my quest to pursue the Most High. I am thankful for the gift of encouragement that comes from unexpected places. Finally, I am really very thankful for grace and its healing powers. More than anything, I am grateful for the God who loves me, the Savior who saved me (and still saves me daily) and for His Spirit who dwells inside of me.
    Many Blessings and Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    • Kim – you stated is so very well. Aren’t we beyond blessed to belong to Him and experience His wonderful grace each day? And the blessing of spending eternity with Him someday because of Jesus’ sacrifice on the Cross for us… Thank you, Kim, for stopping by. I am thankful for you! Have a Merry Christmas!

  2. Love your list!!! I agree with each and every one of them. Thanks for reminding us of the “little” things that really aren’t very little after all. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!! Hugs to you and your family.

  3. With the colder months here, I’m thankful for heat, blankets and a warm cozy bed so I can curl up at night with a book. So I’m also thankful for books! And I’m thankful for His Word which is truly what brings me comfort.
    Thanks for sharing with TWW, Penny. It is a blessing to have you join us every week.

    • Oh yes! I agree, Beth! It takes only one cold day to realize just how blessed we are to have heat, blankets, and a warm cozy bed. Thank you for the reminder. I agree…so, so thankful for His Word. Thank you for graciously allowing me to be a part of your linkup each week. Have a Merry Christmas!

  4. What a great post. I think sometimes we just overlook at all of the incredible blessings we have and focus on the things we don’t instead. Thanks for sharing on the weekend re-Treat link party! Hope to see you again Thurs at 7PM EST.

    Britni @ Play. Party. Pin.

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!

