Posted in Humor posts

Extreme Bathroom Makeover

Penny Zeller, Christian Author

It was a scary decision made by the man of the house…

No, it wasn’t a decision to parachute from a plane or bungee jump from a bridge into the Snake River Canyon. It wasn’t the decision to sail the Atlantic Ocean in a canoe or board the space shuttle for a trip to Saturn. No, it was a much scarier decision – the decision to remodel our upstairs bathroom.

My innocent-seeming husband, Lon had a secret identity as an extreme bathroom makeover artist. He hid this identity well, so how could we have known?

“We would never have guessed. He seemed so…so normal,” said a neighbor who chose to remain anonymous.

Innocent-seeming Lon had a secret identity

The weekend started out peaceful and calm. A nice breakfast and a relaxing day could have been in order, but that wasn’t the case. When I saw Lon heading up the stairs with enough tools to make the tool department at Lowes appear lacking in comparison, I knew that our bathroom would NEVER be the same.

So perhaps I should back up a bit and start at the beginning. Lon decided that we needed a new bathroom faucet. He could barely fit his hands under our current faucet and he mentioned that the current one seemed so “blah.” So, off to the store we went and found a beautiful brushed nickel faucet. Thus began Lon’s obsession with brushed nickel.

The innocent-looking faucet that started it all...

That evening, Lon announced he had to run up to the hardware store to buy something to fix our upstairs toilet. Inside I panicked. After all, I don’t do well without indoor plumbing.

He returned a short time later with a brown bag and unknown contents within it. “I have to fix the toilet,” was all he said as he hastily retreated into our upstairs bathroom and shut and locked the door, leaving me to fear the worst…that our toilet was leaking everywhere.

Moments later, Lon emerged with a grin on his face. He beckoned me to come see the “fixed” toilet.  With a wave of his hand, he showed me the latest brushed nickel addition to our bathroom.

Keep in mind while gazing at the picture above that this bathroom is a small one. The special super-sucker toilet is standard size, but even so, the over-sized toilet flusher took up a large portion of the tank.

During a moment of weakness the prior week, Lon mentioned that he’d never liked the bright colors I’d chosen for our bathroom years ago.  Now I admit, I like bright colors, so at first I couldn’t understand his concern. But as he began to detail the prospect of remodeling our upstairs bathroom, I began to become more open-minded. After all, I could adjust from bright colors to modern browns and creams.

Sadly, the paint we first chose for our extreme bathroom makeover was the wrong color. No, not a soft chocolate brown as we had hoped, but more of an avocado poop brown. We only noticed this after I had painted the entire cabinet. Off to the store we went to for different paint.  We then began the process of repainting the entire bathroom in cream-colored earth tones for the walls and accented by a true chocolate brown…

Lon begins the tedious task of taping off the things we don't want painted (like the tub)
Later…

Lon is later attacked by an especially aggressive piece of plastic

Everything that is removable is taken from the bathroom, including the toilet. Children are sternly warned “Do NOT to use the toilet in the hallway!”

Caution! Do NOT use!
A couple days later, our bathroom emerges into a modernized new room done entirely by motivated do-it-yourselfers, complete with new flooring, paint, sapphire accents, crown moulding, and, yep, you guessed it, a brushed nickel lighting bar!

Our beautiful new bathroom

My creative husband adds a few special touches…

Lon adds moulding and tile accents to our new lighting bar

Lon builds into our cabinet drawers an excellent idea complete with dazzling color…

I absolutely love Lon's idea of floor tiles and accents for our cabinet drawers!
The crown moulding outlines and finishes the look...

Phew! We finally finished our extreme bathroom makeover – and on a budget too. And I owe it all to my husband who can build and remodel anything!

Author:

Penny Zeller is known for her heartfelt stories of faith and her passion to impact lives for Christ through fiction. While she has had a love for writing since childhood, she began her adult writing career penning articles for national and regional publications on a wide variety of topics. Today Penny is a multi-published author of over a dozen books. She is also a homeschool mom and a group fitness instructor. When Penny is not dreaming up new characters, she enjoys spending time with her husband and two daughters and camping, hiking, canoeing, reading, running, gardening, and playing volleyball. She is represented by Tamela Hancock Murray of the Steve Laube Agency and loves to hear from her readers at her website, www.pennyzeller.com, her blog, www.pennyzeller.wordpress.com, and through her newsletter via https://dashboard.mailerlite.com/forms/262119/74964679867237940/share.

21 thoughts on “Extreme Bathroom Makeover

  1. I love the choices Lon made. 😉 Having just completed our own bathroom, kitchen, and bedroom makeovers, I know what a challenge such projects can be. I must admit we had fun days picking out items together.
    Creative ideas within an affordable budget are the icing on the cake. Enjoy!

    1. Hi Melinda! I’m so glad to hear that your remodeling project is going well. And I agree, remodeling on a budget truly is the icing on the cake! I hope you have a fantastic week. 🙂

    1. Awww, thank you, Kat! I have to tell you that Lon and I had a chuckle reading your comment about you and Craig making a good team and how he does the dirty work and you read the instructions and tell him what to do. Hilarious!!!!

  2. Ooh,Aah! lol 🙂 Nice re-do. I also get nervous when hubby says we’re redoing a room. He has to have it done to every detail,which also includes handles.lol. Nice work and I like how the know and rug match 😉
    ~Lori LC

  3. Love it! And I’m so glad it has a happy ending!

    I’m the Tim Allen at our house. I got the idea I could strip that wall paper off our bathroom walls because I’d seen them do it on TV and it looked so easy–those little DIY liars.

    I bought what I needed, followed directions, and peeled. The plasterboard stripped off along with the paper. I tried again–because it’s supposed to work, right? Same results. And again. Those folks on TV don’t lie. It’s easy, right???

    Hubby asked, “When you saw it wasn’t working, why didn’t you just quit?”

    I felt like I was five years old when I responded with a whine, “I don’t know!”

    It’s all better now, but I don’t undertake too many projects on my own.

    1. Hi Linda! Lon and I were laughing so hard over your comment, especially about the DIY liars and the lack of good results with your project! You really need to write a blog post about your experience! 🙂

  4. I bet it feels really nice to have your bathroom remodeled! Congratulations! The first project I took on at the beginning of this last summer was to paint one long wall in my Sunday School classroom that needed much attention due to the scrapes and marks on the wall. However, the project became a HUGE deal… two doorways on that wall to tape around, two chalkboards, a side board along the bottom of the wall, sideboard at the top of the wall, a coat rack, two corners to secure so I didn’t mess up the brick walls on the two ends…. wow…I was exhausted just trying to paint ONE wall without getting paint on things that I wasn’t suppose to get paint on. “Usually” painting is a nice, calming project for me…and not so much stress. hee hee!

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment!